Lynch and Barber semi-finalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame.

If the Calendar reads late November, it must be time for the annual announcement from the Pro Football Hall of Fame as to who is in the final 25.

Once again, two all-time great Buccaneers, safety John Lynch and cornerback Ronde Barber are in the final 25 and hoping their name will get called Super Bowl weekend.

Lynch, one of the all-time great Buccaneers and a key player in the Super Bowl run during the 2002 season, is a semi-finalist for the ninth time.

Lynch anchored the safety position in Tampa for 11 seasons from 1993-2003 before closing out his career with the Denver Broncos from 2004-07.

Lynch was voted to the Pro Bowl nine times in his 14-year career and garnered the reputation as the hardest hitter in the NFL.

Lynch is currently general manager for the San Francisco 49ers and led them to a berth in the Super Bowl last season.

Once again, the competition will be steep for Lynch, as Rodney Harrison, Darren Woodson, and Charles Woodson are semi-finalists.

Lynch’s teammate Ronde Barber is also a semi-finalist for the fourth consecutive year.

Barber, a third-round pick of the Buccaneers in 1997, played his entire career with the Bucs and still owns several franchise records.

Games played. 241
Games started. 232
Interceptions 47
Defensive touchdowns 14

Barber also owns the distinction of starting 215 consecutive games to end his career. Barber is the only player in NFL history to have 45 interceptions to go along with 25 sacks.

Barber will be competing with two other great cornerbacks in this class. Eric Allen and Charles Woodson have also been nominated for induction this year.

Lynch and Barber are both members of the Buccaneer Ring of Honor and should be in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Suppose you did not follow Tampa Bay football during that period when the Bucs were dominating defensively. In that case, you don’t appreciate how good they were and the overall impact on the Buccaneer’s defense.

Lynch was a finalist in 2020 for the seventh consecutive time but didn’t get the votes for Hall of Fame induction.

%d bloggers like this: